Cricket South Africa name Women’s World T20 squad

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has named the squad of 15 that will represent South Africa in the first ever stand-alone ICC Women’s World T20 taking place in the West Indies from 09-24 November 2018. The sixth edition of the ten-team tournament will take place across three venues – Antigua, Saint Lucia and Guyana. The selectors have kept the bulk of the squad that recently completed a tour of the Windies with the return of stalwarts Shabnim Ismail and Trisha Chetty to finish off the dangerous-looking squad. Fast bowler Ayabonga Khaka has not sufficiently recovered from her shoulder surgery and was not considered for selection. Three of the four newest members of the team that toured the West Indies have also received the nod. Tumi Sekhukhune, Robyn Searle and Saarah Smith will make their World Cup debuts. It will be a doubly exciting tournament with the Decision Review System (DRS) being used in an ICC World T20 for the very first time. South Africa will play in Group A in St Lucia against defending champions West Indies, England, Sri Lanka and World Cup Qualifier winners Bangladesh. Group B comprises Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and Ireland.

(Visited 7 times, 1 visits today)

You Might Be Interested In


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *